What Curiosity Really Did to the Cat

“Hmm, I don’t know if I want to go if it’s going to be a sausage fest. I mean, I don’t want to be third wheel to two straight dudes. I mean, if you guys were gay, sure, I like two gay dudes, but two straight dudes, umm, I’ve done that enough times already in life,” I said to R when he asked me if I wanted to go with him and his co-worker / friend to hang out today, going to random places in Lagos.

“Well,” he started, always seemingly at least somewhat patient with my frequent dismissals of social gatherings, “it might be nice.”

To R, saying something “might be nice” is pretty much the equivalent of saying the experience will be guaranteed enjoyable.

Suddenly, a curious feeling of, hmm, what to call it, well, let’s call it a curious feeling of curiosity hit me; I agreed to go.

The day started off with a trip to my favorite restaurant (at least so far), a snazzy little place on a not so snazzy little street, named Metisse. I think the food can best be described as Asian fusion, at least that’s what the hipsters back in the States would call it.

The four of us, me, R, P, and little R all ate together in the restaurant, the only people in the entire place. I’ve learned two things about eating lunch in Lagos on the weekends:

  1. People don’t eat out at the lunch meal on the weekends.
  2. Because of this, I love to eat out at the lunch meal on the weekends.

I am an awful creature of habit, so I ate the exact same thing that I have eaten there three other times: crispy, battered shrimp. Why? Because although I am a good cook,  I do not have the patience or copious amounts of vegetable oil (expensive vegetable oil) needed to deep fry food. So, I enjoy it almost everywhere that I go.

After we ate lunch quite leisurely, we made a quick saunter back to the car to avoid the unfortunate beggars who called the Whites in our group “master” in an attempt to secure an offering.

We then dropped Little R off at a birthday party and went to a lovely little shop called Quintessence. I met a lady named Endurance who offered to perhaps make me a dress. Custom made clothing is quite common here, and a lot of stores (unless they’re quite Westernized) have an assortment of sample sizes that you can try on or have something custom ordered for you. I plan to return to the shop soon and buy a shirt and custom dress.

We also went to a bike shop and the to the Jet Ski Club, which needs no further explanation because it is exactly as it sounds. It is a private, members only club (we got in thanks to P) where folks store their jet skis until they go out onto the marina to ride them. The Jet Ski Club could also be called the “good ass fries” club because they did have some good ass fries, served with both mayo AND ketchup. Divine.

I drank what I thought would be a girly drink, a grapefruit mojito. It turned out to be ‘knock ya on ya ass’ level strong, but it was pretty to look at. I drank about 1/4 of it.

 

 

I have to say that I am glad that I followed my curiosity today. I saw many other curious things that I will share in future posts, but for today, I will leave you with this quote from a super smart guy:

“Look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Try to make sense of what you see, and wonder about what makes the universe exist. Be curious.”–Stephen Hawking

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

