Relaxing Abroad 

“Why is this day so lonnnnnnnng?” I wondered aloud.

“What time did we wake up?” R wondered, also aloud.

Our out loud wondering make me think about how super high strung I can be, especially in my mind. I’ve been told that I come across as calm and confident, but inside my mind, there are 39 monkeys doing 1980s aerobics, listening to hard core house music. Oh and they’re all doing speed (is that still a drug?) and drinking RedBull. 

Do you see the problem here?

Sometimes, I need to learn to relax!

I’ve been this way my entire life and I don’t blame my expatriate experience for my restless mind.

My favorite story about my uptightness comes from many years ago, when I had taken a short ride with my brother. My brother, who is seemingly the opposite of me, a happy and carefree soul, sat me down and said: “Sometimes you just gotta say F×@K IT!!”

Excuse his French. 

That moment still sticks with me even though I still do not follow his genius and concise advice.

I do, however, try on occasion to relax:

1) Bubble baths

2) Comfy socks

3) Hot tea

4) Binge watching The Simpson’s

5) Online shopping

In Lagos, I try to enjoy the first three  relatively often. The last two are nearly impossible here.

What do you like to do to relax, besides read my blog?

Until tomorrow, friends…

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

