London Day 5

Today was all about the Tower of London! Which, I learned, is different from London Bridge, which is a whole other thing that’s also not Tower Bridge.

The taxi driver from the airport said that the first London Bridge was dismantled and sold to a guy in Arizona, USA. The famous bridge in London, the one on the post cards and such, is the Tower Bridge, which crosses the Thames River. On one side of the Thames River is the Tower of London, which is a collection of buildings that were used as a fortresses, homes, places of execution, etc.

Let’s start with Tower Bridge. Look at the bright, lovely, turquoise blue that parts of the bridge are painted.

20170508_160848

20170508_16015920170508_155849

What do you think of my t-shirt? I bought it yesterday at the Primark. Is it too touristy looking? It was quite chilly today, but I had to take off my coat once and take a photo showcasing my awesome and touristy t-shirt.

I also had the chance to watch them raise and lower the Tower Bridge! It was so quiet and smooth, you could place a baby on the thing and he’d still be asleep when it’s over.

RAISING TOWER BRIDGE

 

LOWERING TOWER BRIDGE

 

There was also a visit to the Tower of London, which is where the Crown Jewels are kept. I do not have photographs of the Crown Jewels because there was a strict no photography rule. But, I will just say that yes, they’re gorgeous. You’ll have to just Google what they look like, I suppose.

I could, however, take photos of the other structures and things on display. There are several towers at the Tower of London site; there’s lots of English history assocaited with the site. Many people were beheaded and tortured there. The buildings are very old, some of them dating back to the 1000s. I know, that’s not a typo; that is really over 1,000 years ago.

This is the building where the Crown Jewels are housed.

20170508_151326

Here are other photos of the structures on the site. I don’t know what they’re all called. The houses with the bright, turquoise blue doors captured my attention and imagination. I love how the bright little doors contrasted against the dreary London sky.

20170508_15253420170508_151722

There were also these mesh animal structures around the site.

20170508_15553120170508_14374620170508_143811

Since the buildings are so old, many of them were used during times of war. And a long time ago, war meant bows and arrows and close, hand to hand combat. I took this photo of a window in one of the towers. The window is cross shaped but also functional and wide enough to shoot someone out of it.

20170508_152737

Here are a few last photos. I was so lost in all the beauty and oldness of the buildings that I didn’t write down exactly what these things were, but I suppose I can call them “Medieval Related Stuff.” Ha!

20170508_15562520170508_15255820170508_144020

In the last photo, you can see the cross shaped windows from the outside of the building.

According to my FitBit, I walked almost 6 miles today and about 20 flights of stairs. I predict that I will weight 45 lbs less by the time I go back to Lagos, between the walking and exercise and low, unsatisfying food consumption. Ha!

My feet are killing me. I am off to bed, after a heavy dose of Advil.

Until tomorrow, my friends…

One thought on “London Day 5

Add yours

  1. Beautiful bridge! Maybe you should rent a bike 😂 I hear bikes are the way to go. Keep on letting me see London through your eyes…I’m so enjoying it 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

